Design Wars 4 | Meet the Challengers

Meet our Design Wars 4 Challeners! We have two brand new guest challengers, and 8 returning  designers for a total of 10 competitors! While Design Wars 4 will not officially begin until the release of Newsletter Issue #6 on 24 July,  we couldn’t help spilling who will compete! Have fun learning a bit more about your favorite designers, and find a few new ones too!

To celebrate our new Design Wars 4 team, we are offering 20% off from 28 – 30 June 2013 with code DW4FANS in these fine shops, enjoy:

MAMACHEE | FRAYED KNOT | MAD MAD ME

PLAYIN’ HOOKY | ONE & TWO CO.JUST BE HAPPY |  CRAZYSOCKS

A CREATIVE BEING | HOLLAND DESIGNS | BACA CREATIONS

FRAYED KNOT | JONNA VENTURA

Jonna Ventura | Frayed Knot

Jonna Ventura | Frayed Knot

Design Wars (DW): Name something you collect.

Jonna Ventura (JV): I’m not really a collector at heart BUT I married a collector. One thing we love together is movies! We have a pretty large collection and friends will text or stop by to *rent* movies from us!

DW: Something you can do, that you don’t think anyone else can.

JV: I’d like to think there is a Jonna superpower and I’m still asking around cause I have NO IDEA how to answer this one! Let me get back to you…maybe my husband knows something I don’t lol

DW: Best project you’ve ever crocheted.

JV: Project I’m most proud of – I think the one I’m most proud of is my recent Perfect Bag. I LOVE the way the stitch is worked so you don’t have to line the bag. I’m more likely to purchase patterns that will teach me something new so I really strived for that with this one.

Jonna Ventura | Frayed Knot Perfect Bag

Jonna Ventura | Frayed Knot Perfect Bag

DW: Best vacation you’ve ever had / Place you loved visiting / Somewhere you hope to go someday.

JV: I married an Italian so I think it’s only fair he take me to Italy one day…agree?! Until then, I want to spend some time in Colorado! I was born in the mountains and have only been able to return once when I was a teenager. I was still a baby when we moved to Michigan but have always wanted to go back. The mountains are breathtaking!

DW: What celebrity would you like to crochet for? What would you make them?

JV: Celebrity – This is a no brainer… I would make Channing Tatum a thong  OK OK…maybe not…maybe…not…hehe. ACTUALLY I would love to design something for Zooey Deschanel…I adore her style and think she is hilarious! Maybe a cool cotton (because she’s in those cotton commercials…duh) slouch hat or bag.

MAD MAD ME | CHARISSA RAGSDALE

Charissa Ragsdale | Mad Mad me

Charissa Ragsdale | Mad Mad me

Design Wars (DW): Name something you collect.

Charissa Ragsdale (CR): I collect tiny boxes. I still feel like a little kid opening up a tiny box to find what tiny treasure might be inside. It’s usually a paper clip though.

DW: Something you can do, that you don’t think anyone else can.

CR: I’m pretty sure I’m not that unique! I have no special claim to any particular talent. Maybe I’m still looking for this ‘something.’

DW: Best project you’ve ever crocheted .

CR: I’m pretty sure that my rainbow wool eater blanket is my crochet pride and joy. I just love that baby!

Charissa Ragsdale | Mad Mad me Blanket

Charissa Ragsdale | Mad Mad me Blanket

DW: Best vacation you’ve ever had / Place you loved visiting / Somewhere you hope to go someday

CR: I will make it to Italy one day. I need just one week in my life to live there and pretend I’m a part of all that history, art and food.

DW: What celebrity would you like to crochet for? What would you make them?

CR: This is tricky, I’m not much of a celebrity gal, but if I could make anything for anyone I think I’d love to make a scarf for Steve Martin that he’d wear during one of his flaming banjo performances. That would be amazing!

PLAYIN’ HOOKY | LIZ MCQUEEN

Liz McQueen | Playin Hooky

Liz McQueen | Playin Hooky

Design Wars (DW): Name something you collect.

Liz McQueen (LM): I don’t really collect anything, but my daughter, Bryn, did. She used to find little pine cones in our yard, holding them all in her upturned skirt and bring them inside for “my collection”.

DW: Something you can do, that you don’t think anyone else can.
LM: I’ve been having a lot of fun putting words and other pictures on my Playin’ Hooky Discs (frisbees). I haven’t seen anyone attempt lettering in the round like that (and for good reason – it’s HARD)!
Playin' Hooky | Word Disc Crochet

Playin’ Hooky | Word Disc Crochet

DW: Best project you’ve ever crocheted.

LM: I’m probably most proud of the Wool-Eater/Katherine’s Wheel baby blanket I made for my youngest daughter, Tara. It took me a full month to finish it and I’m proud that I planned well enough ahead to get it done! That doesn’t always happen, haha. Especially considering she was born only a few weeks after I finished! Bryn helped me pick out the colors, which is another reason it makes me smile.

DW: Best vacation you’ve ever had / Place you loved visiting / Somewhere you hope to go someday

LM: When I was younger, my parents and I traveled a lot. I’ve been to 8 countries, and all over the States. Now that I’m married and have kids, we haven’t really taken many trips. Despite all the places I’ve been, my favorite memories are of sitting by the chiminea with my husband Colin and Bryn (my other two kids hadn’t been born yet), at my best friend’s house (who happens to be my husband’s cousin… I met him through her but that’s another story) laughing, telling stories, and swatting mosquitoes in the warm Texas night.

DW: What celebrity would you like to crochet for? What would you make them?

LM: I could make an epic, slightly slouchy, beanie for both Johnny Depp and Ryan Reynolds. Let that sink in for a minute… Mmmmmmm

MAMACHEE | TARA MURRAY

Tara Murray | Mamachee

Tara Murray | Mamachee

DW: Name something you collect.

 Tara Murray (TM): I collect….yarn. haha. Yarn is really the only thing that I have a crazy amount of. I am really not much of a collector but I do love to thrift shop and garage sale for old china and useful vintage pieces.

DW: Something you can do, that you don’t think anyone else can.

TM: This is HARD to answer…I’m too average for this question! I’ve been sitting here thinking about this for quite a while and can’t come up with anything. I guess my family and friends are just too awesome! Note to self…get better than them at something.

DW: Best project you’ve ever crocheted.

TM: Best project. I love crocheting anything for my brother, Chris. I’ve not made him as much as I’d like to make him but when I do crochet him something, he wears it all the time and I can tell he really loves it. (I couldn’t find any pictures of him wearing anything that I’ve made him so I just added a picture of him and his girlfriend, Audrey)

Tara Murray | Mamachee (brother)

Tara Murray | Mamachee (brother)

DW: Best vacation you’ve ever had / Place you loved visiting / Somewhere you hope to go someday

TM: When I was 15, I went on vacation with my best friend and her family to Hawaii. We had so much fun! My future husband was also on that trip, we started dating shortly after. I’ve always wanted to go back there with him…one day we will!

DW: What celebrity would you like to crochet for? What would you make them?

TM: Another toughy, I’m a fan of so many (we are movie people). I think I’ll choose Jake Gyllenhaal….not because I think he is the most talented or makes the best movies but because he is some of my favorite eye candy. What would I crochet him? Anything he wanted!! Haha.

JUST BE HAPPY | ALESSANDRA HAYDEN

Alessandra Hayden | Just Be Happy

Alessandra Hayden | Just Be Happy

Design Wars (DW): Name something you collect.

Alessandra Hayden (AH): I collect mugs from places I visit. I love that I get to use them everyday when I drink my coffee, they bring back good memories.

DW: Something you can do, that you don’t think anyone else can.
AH: Put my daughter to bed, some days at least, I am the only one.
DW: Best project you’ve ever crocheted .
AH: This was a hard one, I love so many things I have crocheted, but at the moment I am most proud of my Elizabeth hat.
Alessandra Hayden | Just Be Happy Elizabeth Hat

Alessandra Hayden | Just Be Happy Elizabeth Hat

DW: Best vacation you’ve ever had / Place you loved visiting / Somewhere you hope to go someday

AH: The best vacation I have ever had was my honeymoon in Fortaleza, Brazil. A place I loved visiting was Buenos Aires, Argentina because my husband and I were going through a very difficult time in our lives and it was so nice to get away from everything and a place I hope to visit one day is Portugal.

DW: What celebrity would you like to crochet for? What would you make them?

AH: I would like to crochet a hat for Zoey Deschanel, I think it would be gorgeous with her bangs.

A CREATIVE BEING | “WINK”

Wink | A Creative Being

Wink | A Creative Being

Design Wars (DW): Name something you collect.

Wink: I collect vintage thermoses. Whenever I’m out thrifting I always keep an eye out for a nice thermos. Unfortunately, I’m not the only one who likes them, so I often have to look really hard to find them!

DW: Something you can do, that you don’t think anyone else can.

Wink: Okay this is courtesy of my boyfriend: I have the uncanny ability to hear music playing anywhere, and in the middle of a conversation to stop talking, close my eyes and start air drumming like there’s no tomorrow! 

DW: DW: Best project you’ve ever crocheted .

Wink: For me, the latest project is always the most amazing one. Case in point, my latest Noro bag!

Wink Slump | A Creative Being

Wink | A Creative Being

DW: Best vacation you’ve ever had / Place you loved visiting / Somewhere you hope to go someday.

Wink: We got our diver’s ‘licences’ a couple of years ago, in Aruba! And that place still is the most awesome holiday I’ve ever had.

DW: What celebrity would you like to crochet for? What would you make them?

Wink: I would love to crochet something for Ellen! She is so funny and cool.

HOLLAND DESIGNS | LISA VAN KLAVEREN

Lisa van Klaveren | Holland Designs

Lisa van Klaveren | Holland Designs

Design Wars (DW): name something you collect.

Lisa van Klaveren (LvK): Yarn. Judging by my burgeoning stash which takes up a wall of my office and an entire hall closet.

DW: Something you can do, that you don’t think anyone else can.

LvK: Crochet with my eyes closed…though I’m sure some other people can do this too.

DW: Best project you’ve ever crocheted (something you are most proud of;)

LvK: I’m most proud of my Shortie Sweater. It’s my top-selling design of all time and is great for it’s cuteness and simplicity.

Lisa van Klavaren | Holland Designs

DW: Best vacation you’ve ever had / Place you loved visiting / Somewhere you hope to go someday.

LvK: I feel a little like I’m visiting New Zealand, even though I live here! it’s such a beautiful country…every time we take our kids to the beach, I pinch myself to realize this is my home now.

DW: What celebrity would you like to crochet for? What would you make them?

LvK: I think it would be fun to custom design a crocheted dress for some model or singer to wear on the red carpet. Maybe some young star like Taylor Swift who would get quite a lot of attention for what she was wearing and then I’d be famous 🙂

BACA CREATIONS | SALENA BACA

Salena Baca | Baca Creations Crochet

Salena Baca | Baca Creations Crochet

Design Wars (DW): Name something you collect.

Salena Baca (SB): Post cards! Every museum, restaurant, city, country, or art gallery I go to I buy them! I don’t usually send them, I just collect them.
DW: Something you can do, that you don’t think anyone else can.

SB: I can untangle just about any mess of yarn.  I’d call it a gift, but it’s a bit of a curse; I’m compelled to untangle as little as 50 yards, even if it takes me an hour!
DW: Best project you’ve ever crocheted (something you are most proud of)

SB: I still have to say that it’s my Snail Shell newborn photo prop. It’s probably the most creative design I’ve ever accomplished!

Salena Baca | Baca Creations Crochet

Salena Baca | Baca Creations Crochet

DW: Best vacation you’ve ever had / Place you loved visiting / Somewhere you hope to go someday.

SB: We visited Paris, France  early last year and took our kids to Disneyland. It was the most beautiful, romantic, enchanting, exciting place I’ve ever been!

DW: What celebrity would you like to crochet for? What would you make them?

SB: Natalie Portman! She is probably one of the most naturally beautiful girls I’ve ever seen, and I adore her movies! I would love to make her my Sunburst Tam in an earthy tone!

CRAZYSOCKS | DANYEL PINK

Danyel Pink | CrazySocks Designs

Danyel Pink | CrazySocks Designs

Design Wars (DW): Name something you collect.

Danyel Pink (DP): I collect t-shirts and pint glasses. I have over 25 pint glasses now! I know that’s not an impressive number, but my kitchen cabinets are quite full!

DW: Something you can do, that you don’t think anyone else can.

DP: I don’t really have any special skills… but I do have a very keen sense of smell. I use this highly developed sense to sniff yarn at the craft store. mmmm

DW: Best project you’ve ever crocheted (something you are most proud of)

DP: I don’t know if the Sam Hat is my BEST… but I’m really proud of it. And it’s one of my most favorite hats to make! The colors and texture really make me happy!

DW: Best vacation you’ve ever had / Place you loved visiting / Somewhere you hope to go someday.

DP: The best vacation I ever had was our honeymoon. We spent a week in Waikiki & had a wonderful time eating, shopping, and relaxing by the beach.

Danyel Pink | CrazySocks Designs

Danyel Pink | CrazySocks Designs

DW: What celebrity would you like to crochet for? What would you make them?

DP:  I’d love to crochet something for Hugh Jackman. Besides being insanely handsome, I think he seems like he’s a really nice person. Heck, he probably knows how to crochet… maybe he’d come over for a “stitch n bitch”? Hey, a girl can dream, right?

ONE & TWO CO. | CAROLINA GUZMAN

Carolina Guzman | One & Two Co.

Carolina Guzman | One & Two Co.

Design Wars (DW): Name something you collect.

Carolina Guzman (CG):  Stuffed animals of all sizes and colors 😉

DW: Something you can do, that you don’t think anyone else can.

CG: I can watch all the seasons of “Sex and the City” without blinking… lol

DW: Best project you’ve ever crocheted (something you are most proud of)

CG: My Elephant Security Blanket. I think it was a challenge and I’m very proud of the final result.

Carolina Guzman | Elephant Security Blanket Crochet Pattern

Carolina Guzman | Elephant Security Blanket Crochet Pattern

DW: Best vacation you’ve ever had / Place you loved visiting / Somewhere you hope to go someday.

CG: I would like to return to Disneyland in Paris, with my daughter Clara and my little Alicia who will be born in November 🙂

DW: What celebrity would you like to crochet for? What would you make them?
CG: I would like to crochet something to Jim Parsons (Dr. Sheldon Lee Copper – The Big Bang Theory), but I don’t know what… something freak 😉

4 responses to “Design Wars 4 | Meet the Challengers

Leave a Reply

